Durango-Silverton Narrow Gauge Stream Train VIDEO

Here is a quick video I made of my ride on the D&SNG Steam Train, one of the world’s premiere vintage scenic train rides . The route was constructed in the early 1880’s and has continuously run since then climbing thousands of feet each day. Each train carries tons of coal that is shoveled into the burner to boil water creating the pressure that make the train go. It is a three and a half hour ride each way on narrow cliff lines, over bridges, past waterfalls and other great views. I rode the train as a bit of a brake on my Colorado Bike Tour 2011. It saved me from two mountain passes and a day or two. It was quite a nice experience and I recommend it to anyone.

There are three music tracks. First is an experimental number by me called “On My Way Home (Train Song).” The Second it “Train Song” by Tom Waits, and the third is “Last Train” by Abigail Washburn.

~ by elliotsiff on July 2, 2011.

One Response to “Durango-Silverton Narrow Gauge Stream Train VIDEO”

  1. Awesome! Good choice of tunes as well! (I must improve, I must improve..my wordpress skills!)

Leave a Reply

 
