Mesa Verde National Park

Going to Mesa Verde was a great choice, especially on the solstice when they waive entrance fees. After the snow storm turned to mud in Telluride we had to break down a wet and dirty camp. The plush campground facilities at the National Park gave me a chance to get some laundry done while getting a warm shower and cooking a nice meal.

I spent the first night driving the ling windy roads of the park around sunset deciding where I would like to take pictures the next day. Mesa Verde is like an amusement park where you drive windy, dramatic, cliff-side roads that guide you to an array of short hikes to well preserved archeological sites. Be sure to sign up for a tour or two. Most are only three bucks and they are the only way to get right up into Cliff Palace, The long House, Balcony House and some other spots. You must also plan you time of day for certain cliff dwellings depending on if you and sun or shade for photo purposes.

I was very impressed by the beauty, expanse and archeological value of Mesa Verde. I can’t wait to go back to the Four Corners and explore some of the lesser visited cliff dwellings that litter more remote places such as the Canyon of the Ancients Ntl. Monument appointed by Mr Bill Clinton. I hope you enjoy the photos, I will be writing a longer piece for modernnomad.org in the near future about my trip to Mesa Verde.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

~ by elliotsiff on June 23, 2011.

3 Responses to “Mesa Verde National Park”

  1. Awesome pictures! They really make me want to go out there and see the cliff dwellings. In fact, I’m going to read up on them right away. Keep the photos and other travel pieces coming, E … very, very good stuff!

  2. Calidad vos, que me lleves alla en Octubre!

    keep pestering me to put stories and photos up for modern nomad. keep building it up, coz your web pages are looking awesome

Leave a Reply

 
